top of page

DMV Package Pitch

Story Pitches for Package #2

Pitch #1: Washington, DC Opens New African-American History Museum

Washington, DC has recently opened a new African-American History Museum located on the National Mall. Here, Americans can learn about the rich history and culture Black people hold within us. The museum allows people to get an up close experience with some of the most defining moments in history and how these experiences have helped shaped this nation as a whole. This building also serves as a home for people who care about the history and culture of African-Americans.

This package would allow people to get a grasp of exciting new things to do in Washington, DC. I will shoot shots of the building while explaining where the building is located and the hours of operation. I would also shoot some of the exhibits shown in the museum if I am permitted to do so. I would shoot people walking in and out of the museum as a means to show how beneficial and African-American Museum is for all races, not just the African-American race.

Some people I would interview would be the director of the museum. I would want to interview the director just to get a sense of the vision of the museum. I would ask him his thoughts of how he wants people to view the African-American museum. I would also ask him his thoughts on the importance of having a place where people of all cultures can view the Black culture and history up close. I would also interview two people, one Black person and one of a different race which will add to the emotional appeal of the package. I would ask the Black person what it means to have an African-American museum to them and what was their favorite aspect of the museum. I would ask the non-black person around the same criteria except I expect the answer to be different.

My standup would be shot in front of the museum so that people can get a glimpse of the beautiful architecture of the building. I would place it at the end of the package as a conclusion to the things shown in the package, and I would also introduce a new exhibit or talk about one of the most popular exhibits so that people would be left with a compelling reason to come visit the new attraction.

Package Pitch #2: U Street Music Hall has U Street Music Foundation for Students

Although U Street Music Hall is a club type of venue where many adults go to watch shows and party, the organization as whole does things for the community that many people are not aware of. A little after the construction of the music hall, U Street Music Foundation was created. U Street Music Foundation is an organization that helps fund many young music students in DC music aspirations. They allow students who cannot afford tuition at a performing arts school the opportunity to attend one by giving them scholarships. They also give students money to fund their own recitals and shows and help students purchase instruments that they couldn’t afford on their own.

This package would draw attention to the influential aspects that places such as these in the DC community provide for the area. I would shoot shots at the U Street Music Hall just to get a sense of where the location of the venue is. I would also talk about the significance of U Street Music Hall before I introduce the U Street Music Foundation. I would also get shots of the performing arts schools and students that the foundation has provided funds for.

Some people I would interview would be the director of the U Street Music Foundation. I would ask the about the inspiration for creating this foundation and who they are continuing to fund. I would also interview some of the children who are currently being supported by the foundation. I would ask them (or their parents) what it means to be able to explore their creative side by getting to be able to be supported by the U Street Music Foundation.

My standup would be shot in the middle of the package. I would shoot it right after I shoot parts about the U Street Music Hall as an introduction for the foundation. I would shoot it in front of the U Street Music Hall. Hopefully this package gets attention to the positive things that even clubs around the DC area does for the community.


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page