top of page

Living in Washington as an Immigrant

Washington, DC – Previous immigrant Juan Hernandez receives full American citizenship and becomes a manager at Ben’s Next Door.

Born in El Progreso, Guatemala, Juan Hernandez lived in extremely rural and poor conditions. He grew up in a family of six where he was a middle child living in tight living spaces. He was also subject to helping his parents work in the garden for an earning.

“I did not know much about the United States, but I knew their living conditions had to be much better than my experiences growing up,” he said.

Hernandez said education helped him earn his citizenship in the United States. His mother ensured that her children knew how to read and write before sending them out on their own. This inspired Hernandez to continue his education and excel in his schooling.

Prior to applying for his green card, Hernandez decided to attend college in the United States to further live out his dream of receiving a good education.

“I worked hard in my family’s business and working for other people throughout my city to earn and save money for college. Thankfully, my family understood my desire to move to the Unites States and allowed me to make my own decisions for what I did with my money.”

Hernandez explained that many families throughout his country expect each family member to pitch in financially once he or she is of age to begin working. However, Juan’s mother supported his decision to attend college and allowed him to move on his own in hopes of one day he would be able to support his family.

Once Hernandez finally earned citizenship in the United States, he was accepted in a few small schools in the South. However, Juan’s career choice changed from a degree in education to culinary.

“Cooking is a major part of my culture. From a small child our mother taught us many Spanish dishes, and I quickly learned my way around the kitchen.” said Hernandez.

Juan packed up his things and moved to Washington, D.C. where he took up culinary at the Art Institute of Washington. He also started a part time job at Ben’s Chili Bowl where he worked on the grill and became a well-known face with customers at the establishment. Managers noticed Hernandez’ hard work at the Chili Bowl and later brought him on as head chef at their chain bar and grill Ben’s Next Door.

Upon the completion of his culinary arts degree, Hernandez was also offered a managerial position at Ben’s Next Door. He now continues to make fantastic dishes at this restaurant, and he continues to make his family proud with his success.


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page